top of page

If you're going to eat shit...


As I sit in my office and wonder what I should write about next, my mind goes blank. To be honest, I have many interesting topics I want to write about and share with the world, but I am just not able to get it on paper. Yes, I do it the old school way; first, start with ideas on paper and then bring them to life on my computer. I just cannot seem to get started. I tell myself, "I can't write because I'm overwhelmed with work", "nothing is flowing out of me because I'm too tired", and the reasons for my idleness keeps pouring out.

I recently read a book called The Hard Thing About Hard Things by Ben Horowitz. In this book, Ben Horowitz analyzes the problems that confront leaders every day, sharing the insights he’s gained developing, managing, selling, buying, investing in, and supervising technology companies. A lifelong rap fanatic, he amplifies business lessons with lyrics from his favorite songs, telling it straight about everything from firing friends to poaching competitors, cultivating and sustaining a CEO mentality to knowing the right time to cash in. While many people talk about how great it is to start a business, very few are honest about how difficult it is to run one and Ben Horowitz is brutally honest about how hard it is to run one. If you are working as a manager at a startup or just dealing with managing people in general this is a great book to help you understand how others have dealt with hard situations and conversations.

One of the quotes that really stuck with me from the book was, “If you’re gonna eat shit, don’t nibble.”

If you're going to eat shit, don't nibble. When the quote from the book is put into context, the author was discussing a strategy for revising earnings forecasts. Out of context, this quote is relatable on different levels.

Sitting here with the blank paper, and later on a blank word document, I decided to use the advice given the Horowitz. Although, writing is a peaceful and fun activity (not something to tell students when they are writing last minute a 20-page essay the night before handing it in), it surely felt like eating poo because as much as I was forcing myself to write, nothing would come out. I could not nibble any longer, because shit will remain in it natural form no matter how much I try to dress it in any sauce or spice...

Like I was saying, shit is the fruit of life. You can barbecue it, boil it, broil it, bake it, saute it. Dey's uh, shit-kabobs, shit creole, shit gumbo. Pan fried, deep fried, stir-fried. There's pineapple shit (not to be confused with pineapple pizza which I enjoy - hey don't judge me!), lemon shit, coconut shit, pepper shit, shit soup, shit stew, shit salad, shit and potatoes, shit burger, shit sandwich. That- that's about it.

In case you are wondering, yes, that was from Forrest Gump. But they were talking about shrimps, not shit.

Shit is, and will always be, shit. In its natural form, its smelly and disgusting, and we tend to avoid it. occasionally, we might step in it by accident. But, hey, shit happens.

But, why is it so hard to make the first step? Is it the lack of motivation? Is it the lack of knowledge? Is it self-doubt? Is it fatigue?

How many reasons can you list that are stopping you from starting a project or getting some work done or finally washing those dishes that have been piling up for the last three days?

Are they valid reason or are they excuses you create in your mind?

I know I had a lot of excuses why I was not able to write. In reality, I was able to write. What really happened is that I stopped myself from writing by creating limits and barriers for myself.

In a way, I was scared of failure. I was scared I would write something that was not worthy of being shared. I was worried of failure. But what I failed to see is that failure is part of success. That we all have to go through it. Winston Churchill said, "success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm." And so, I had to switch my mindset, from being a failure-avoider to a success-seeker.

I began writing about my experience of not being able to write. And soon enough, words began to fill up the paper. Once i got started, I did not want to stop until the task was complete. I am sure you can relate when it comes to you. How many times have you put off a task for "tomorrow" and told yourself that you cannot deal with it at the moment because of an X reason? Did not call the client because you have some emailed you needed to answer? Did clean the room because you were too tired from work? Unable to write because you are at work? Excuses or is that a fresh smell of BS? You tell me.

I am sure you can remember when you decided to finally tackle that "to-do"list you have laying around at home. Once you started cleaning those gutters, or rearranging your client files, you did not stop until the job was done.

Somewhat akin to the old adage about ripping the band-aid off quickly rather than slowly, if you’ve got a problem, deal with all of it. Do not let it linger. If you are going to do some painful, do not drag it out.

If you're going to eat shit, don't nibble.

“I move onward, the only direction. Can’t be scared to fail in search of perfection.”

- Jay-Z

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page